There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Don’t take my picture!

on October 16, 2013

I’ve always thought “before and after” pictures were inspirational and would often help spark my motivation to get fit.  I’ll be posting pictures on my blog because I believe it helps people see that it IS possible.  It CAN be done.  

Being overweight my ENTIRE life, I had absolutely no idea what I’d look like as a fit person.   I always hid from the camera.  There are many pictures of my kids without me in the picture, or of me hiding behind something or taken from the neck up.  I would always screen pictures and avoid the camera.  It ‘s sad really, I don’t have all that many pictures of me with my kids when they were little, but I do have some.  I trained my husband so well not to take my picture that he’s still reluctant to include me in pictures now, even though I said I’m no longer off limits for candid pictures.  I still screen pictures, as most women do, but I am no longer cripplingly self conscious about my body.  Believe me, it’s still a process and a huge mental shift for me.  39 years of worrying how fat I look in pictures doesn’t get fixed over night.  I often find myself going through pictures now and not even recognizing myself right away or I’ll think, “wow, I don’t look fat in that picture”.  Apparently, that’s because I am NOT fat any more… but that’s an entirely different blog post.

The “before” picture in the “My Story” link is actually from about 6 months before I started my journey.  I really regret not talking any true “before” pictures and measurements.  I didn’t realize at the time that THIS was it.  I was actually going to do it FOR REAL this time.  What saddens me even more is being so self conscious that I’d never want to be in candid pictures with my family.  For me, being overweight was crippling in so many ways.  

ImageImage

 

2 responses to “Don’t take my picture!

  1. Brenda Gromek says:

    Caitlin…..what an amazing transformation. You look wonderful and should be proud of yourself! Thank you for sharing your story!

  2. MS_AimeeC says:

    Welcome to the blogger world! 🙂

    I’m so excited for you to share your story!

Leave a Reply

