There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Is that a banana in your freezer…

on October 22, 2013

Breakfast is not my favorite meal.  I’m not a big fan of eggs or many of the typical breakfast offerings.  I usually have one of three different meals for breakfast.  Most frequently, I have a smoothie.  It’s the perfect post-workout meal, plus it fills me up and it’s yummy (It has to be yummy!)!

The other thing I like about smoothies is that they are easily altered to change it up a bit and you don’t have to be exact with measurements.  I love recipes that I don’t need to measure things.  A little of this, a little of that and wahlah, a yummy creation.  As you may have read in my “I blame my mother!” post, I have been concocting recipes for a long time, but now my focus is on healthful foods instead of making junk food out of anything in the house.

I have to say, it took me a while to try a smoothie with any sort of greens in it.  I really thought it sounded (and looked!) pretty gross.  Turns out, the greens just fill out the smoothie and don’t really add much flavor at all.

You really need to freeze your bananas in order to get the right smoothie consistency.  Any time you have really ripe bananas, just peel them and wrap them in some plastic wrap or something to keep them airtight, then freeze them.  Apparently you can also make banana “ice cream” just with frozen bananas.  I need to try that one of these days!

The other item you need is a good blender.  Unfortunately, a regular old kitchen blender just doesn’t cut it.  We had many failed attempts of lumpy smoothies and when your blender starts making that awful smell, it’s time to throw in the towel and get a good blender for smoothies.  Since we weren’t really sure how long we’d be into having smoothies, we didn’t want to shell out the big bucks for a Vitamix.  So, as with most items we purchase, I started reading reviews on Amazon and found the Ninja.  First of all, it’s called the Ninja blender, how cool is that?  Secondly, it’s a teeny fraction of the cost of a Vitamix.  We’ve been using this blender every day for over a year now and it’s still fantastic.  They have a few more upgraded models now, so when we are ready to replace this one, we will probably get the next model up (still a fraction of the cost of the big guy competitor).

So, now that you have your bananas in the freezer and your blender all set up and ready to go, here’s the recipe:

Image

Chocolate Banana Green Smoothie

About 6 ice cubes
2 handfuls of fresh spinach leaves
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (flavor of your choice or you can add 1 tsp vanilla)
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (I do not use fat-free)
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp honey
1 tsp nut butter (I use natural peanut butter)
1 frozen banana broken into chunks

Place all ingredients into your blender in this order.  Blend until completely smooth, pour into a glass and enjoy!

*Note:  Always use organic ingredients when possible.

Image

Those stainless steel straws are great and wide enough to easily suck up your thick smoothie!

4 responses to “Is that a banana in your freezer…

  1. SMcMullin says:

    Eating a similar smoothie post gym right now! I used chocolate almond milk instead of plain and added a little ground flax seed. Those straws look awesome!

    • FitK8lin says:

      I haven’t tried the chocolate almond milk! Yes, I’ve added chia seeds, ground flax, protein powder… smoothies are so easy to add to and change up! The straws are definitely great, and I’m not tossing out plastic straws all the time!

  2. Fat Chick says:

    I do not like breakfast food either, never really have, it tastes good momentarily, but then…..it’s like a huge overload of yucky in my tummy!

  3. […] I typically eat for breakfast. My most frequent breakfast meal, and awesome post-workout meal, is a green smoothie. My favorite meal when I have time, 1 1/2 – 2 hours, before a workout or when I am traveling […]

Leave a Reply

