There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Oodles and Oodles of Zoodles!

on October 29, 2013

What are zoodles, you ask?  They are a fun way to say zucchini noodles.  I’ve been making zucchini noodles (and many other zucchini creations) since the beginning of the summer and been asked many times to share how to make them.  So, here we go…

Before I changed my eating habits, I used to eat a big plate of pasta at least once a week.  Pasta is an easy crowd pleaser!  The kids eat it, grownups love it and it’s a great comfort food.  When I changed my habits, I still had pasta, but I would have a teeny portion with a ton of veggies on the side (I still do this from time to time).  Now that I have discovered how fantastic zoodles are, I make them any time I make a pot of my Bolognese sauce.  I know, I know, there’s no substitute for real pasta.  Though I do agree, zoodles don’t taste like real pasta, they sure do come close and they satisfy the pasta craving!

I always start my zoodles before I start anything else, since they need to sit so you can squeeze out the water.

I use 3-4 zucchinis per person when I make zoodles.  I have used a grater and a mandoline to create the noodles, but I decided to invest in a spiralizer since I make these fairly often.  I also purchased cheese cloth since I use zucchini in a variety of recipes and I always need to squeeze it out.  Cheese cloth is definitely the way to go, but you can use paper towels in a pinch or put your zucchini in a colander over a bowl and squeeze it with your hands.

I’ve tried sautéing my zoodles and steaming them.  I much prefer the steam method.  They stay together better that way and since you’re topping them with a sauce, you don’t need the added oil used in sautéing.

Oh, and stay tuned until the end of my post.  I included bonus recipes!

Method:

Line your bowl with cheese cloth.

Wash your zucchini and cut off the end without the stem when using spiralizer, otherwise, cut off both ends.  I leave the skin on.  Use your tool of choice to create the noodles and place in your bowl.  If you use the spiralizer, hold the zucchini by the stem end.  This will allow you to get closer to the end of your zucchini.

Image

Image

Toss about 1 tsp of sea salt in with your zucchini.  Twist the cheesecloth closed around the zucchini and let it sit for AT LEAST 15 minutes.  The longer it sits, the more water you will be able to squeeze out of it.

Image

Once your zucchini has been sitting for at least 15 minutes, squeeze all of the water out of it.

Image

Place in a glass bowl with a lid.  Microwave* for 6-7 minutes for 8 zucchinis, or steam on the stovetop.

Serve with your favorite sauce!

Image

Another super-delicious way to have your zoodles is with a coconut curry sauce.  I use this recipe doubled for 8 zucchinis. Note*  Substitute honey for the sugar.

Serve it with coconut curry grilled chicken kabobs and grilled broccoli or vegetable of choice.  Delicious!

Coconut Curry Chicken Kabobs:
1 lb chicken breasts, cut into chunks for kabobs
Marinade:
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tsp honey or maple syrup
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp ground pepper

Combine marinade ingredients.  Marinade chicken for at least 2 hours in the refrigerator.  String onto skewers and grill 4-5 minutes per side or until cooked through.

You can serve with a peanut dipping sauce, but I prefer mine as is along with the coconut curry noodles.  The extra sauce from the noodles goes well with the chicken.

Image

*Yes, I do use a microwave oven.  I mostly use it to steam vegetables and reheat leftovers.  We always microwave in glass containers, never plastic.  Here’s an article about the safety of microwaving.  I believe everyone should make their own decision on whether or not to use a microwave oven.

Leave a Reply

