There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

A Bump in the Road: Updated

on November 3, 2013

About a year ago, I had a few episodes of abdominal pain.  They were concerning enough for me to go to the doctor.  After an ultrasound, it was determined that I have gallstones.  At the time, I did meet with a surgeon and discussed having my gallbladder removed.  I decided to hold off to see if the attacks continued.  For the past year, I’ve had no issues at all, that is, until yesterday.  I had a severe enough attack (far worse than I had experienced last year) that it sent me to the hospital.  Multiple tests revealed that my billiary duct is enlarged and inflamed.  Fortunately, they did not see a blockage.  I was given the option to remain in the hospital and have the surgery today or, since there is no immediate blockage, I could be released and meet with the surgeon on Monday.  I chose to be released, hoping that I can put off the surgery until after my half marathon next Saturday.

Gallbladder attacks are typically triggered after eating a very fatty meal (fried foods, fast foods, etc…).  Since I don’t eat any of this, and the attack happened hours after I ate a meal, it’s not known what may have set it off.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can make it to the half marathon and delay surgery without risk. However, if I do have another attack, I will likely end up having surgery sooner rather than later.  I’ll find out more when I meet with the surgeon, but the doctor did give me the impression that the surgeon will advise me not to wait.

On a completely different note, the nurses were quite impressed by my extremely low resting heart rate (in the 40s).  The ultrasound tech actually laughed because he found it fascinating that he could see the blood cells moving through my body because my images were so clear due to low body fat.

Of course, I could not help thinking about the fact that I probably wouldn’t be in this predicament if I wasn’t so unhealthy for all of those years.  I know it doesn’t help matters to dwell on the past, so I will look forward, I will have this taken care of, and I will keep on going!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATE:  For those of you following this, I was given the go ahead to do my run this weekend!  My surgical consult will be next week, at which time I will schedule the surgery.  Meanwhile, since Saturday, I have had two pain-free workouts with just a little fatigue.  I do have the fear of another attack looming over me, but I’m trying not to think about it and just enjoy the experience this weekend.

Disney Wine & Dine 1/2 Marathon, here I come!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12/13/2013: Well, I did it, I had the surgery 1 week ago. The surgery only took about an hour, followed by a couple of hours in recovery. All went smoothly, though they did have to give me something to increase my heartrate back into the 40s during recovery (I assume it’s because of my AWESOME physical fitness level! ;)). Before leaving the hospital, I complained of shoulder pain and was told it was probably the gas they used to inflate my abdomen making its way up there. This is apparently pretty common. What I wasn’t told is how painful this can be and how long it lasts. I suffered with pretty intense pains in my abdomen, chest and shoulder for a few days and still have some pain in my shoulder and right arm, with a little bit under my ribs when I workout.

I only took one pain pill the night I came home. I was on my feet and moving around slowly for the first 2 days after my surgery. By 5 days post-surgery, I did 3 slow miles on my treadmill. I did the same thing the following day (yesterday), and took a 1-hour strength/cardio class at Clay today. I was a bit tired by the end of the class, and had some shoulder, arm and abdominal soreness, but no shooting pains or anything like that. I have a 5K that I am participating in tomorrow, and hope to be back to my normal workout routine next week.

Other than these obnoxious pains from the gas, I’ve been feeling pretty good! I have 2 incisions on my abdomen and one in my belly button. The incisions aren’t causing me any pain at all (other than a little bruisy feeling if I touch around them).

I’m happy it’s done, and that I won’t have to go through any more attacks down the road!

One response to “A Bump in the Road: Updated

  1. Blue says:

    After I lost weight, I had to have my gallbladder removed, too. I put it off for a long time, constantly living in fear of the next “attack” (I was getting them once a week or so). As it turns out, though, the surgery is easy and I experienced very little pain! They do it all with teeny little incisions. I think the average attack is WAY more horrible than the whole experience of the surgery.

Leave a Reply

