There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Chickie Chickie Bock Bock!

on December 11, 2013

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am always trying to find new chicken recipes that are quick, easy and healthy for weeknight meals. I think this one fits the bill.

This is a variation on a recipe my sister-in-law once made for us. I took the basic recipe seasonings and put my twist on it. It’s another one of those very forgiving recipes, which everyone knows I love! I really don’t like measuring ingredients and I love to be able to use whatever veggies I have on hand at the time.

This recipe can definitely be tossed into a slow cooker on low all day, but I normally make it on the stovetop. I’d say it’s about a 30 minute meal, but that all depends on how much chopping you have time for. I’ll give you the easy version and you can always substitute any frozen veggies for fresh.

This meal doesn’t really have a name. We call it “chicken goop” at my house, and my son calls it “chicken coop”, so I’ll leave it up to you to come up with your own name for this dish. 🙂

Chicken and Veggie Succotash?

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb skinless, boneless chicken breasts diced into small pieces (uncooked)
1 tbsp. coconut oil or olive oil
3 small zucchinis, quartered lengthwise and chopped
1 sweet onion, diced
1 container mushrooms, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
28 ounces diced tomatoes
1/4 cup dried parsley (or 1/2 cup fresh, chopped)
1 tbsp. oregano
2 big handfuls of fresh spinach (baby kale is also great in this recipe)
1/2 bag frozen peas
1/2 bag frozen diced carrots (or 2 large carrots, diced- but you’ll have to steam them or add them in early on so they cook through)
Sea salt and pepper to taste
Optional* Top with feta cheese or freshly grated cheese

METHOD:
Melt the oil in a large pot on your stovetop. Add the chicken, season with salt & pepper and cook until no longer pink. (I like to cover my pot and turn the heat down to medium, stirring every few minutes until done. This keeps the chicken moist and tender.) Remove chicken and set aside.

12_11_13 021

In the same pot, sauté the mushrooms, while they are cooking, chop up your onion, and add it to the mushrooms. Chop your zucchini and garlic and add that as well. Season with salt & pepper during each step! (Here’s where you would add the carrots if you use fresh instead of frozen.)

12_11_13 024

Once the onion turns translucent, add the tomatoes, parsley, and oregano. Simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in the spinach, frozen veggies and add the chicken and any juices back in. Season to taste. Heat through and serve as is, topped with cheese and/or over brown rice. Enjoy!

12_11_13 025

12_11_13 026

12_11_13 028

*Whenever possible, choose organic ingredients. I use Alexia brand frozen organic diced carrots.

Leave a Reply

