There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

The kale dish that just about everyone likes!

on January 21, 2014

Like so many others, I have read the benefits of eating Kale.  The problem was, I didn’t really like it.  I tried kale chips… they’re OK, but not really my thing.  I tried just sautéing it and I used a few other recipes, but I never really liked it.  I came across a recipe that used similar “dressing” ingredients that I use in this one, and found the flavors really go well together.  My husband swore he wouldn’t like kale in any form, but he loves this dish.  I should also mention, he does now like baby kale mixed into various other dishes that I make as well.

This side dish is sweet and tangy and with the addition of sweet potato, it’s quite filling.  I’ll often eat it as the main part of my lunch with a little protein to go along with it.  Sometimes I make it with a combo of kale and spinach or if I’m in a rush, I will buy the organic baby power greens mix at the store (I usually need 3 of the little clamshell containers to make this dish though).

If you’ve been reluctant to try kale, give this recipe a try and let me know what you think!

Sweet & Tangy Kale & Sweet Potato Side
by There is No Secret to Getting Fit

INGREDIENTS:
2 sweet potatoes, diced and steamed
1 tbsp. coconut oil
1 sweet onion, diced
2 cloves minced garlic
1 1/2 tbsp. Dijon mustard
1 tbsp. maple syrup
2 tbsp. cider vinegar
2 cups chicken stock
4 cups kale, torn, stems removed
1/2 cup dried, juice-sweetened cranberries
Sea salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup sliced almonds (optional)

METHOD:
Peel and dice the sweet potato.  Steam until cooked through and set aside.

Heat coconut oil in a large, heavy pot.  Sauté onion until translucent and season with salt and pepper.  Add the minced garlic and sauté for another minute.

12_2_13 031 12_2_13 032

Make a “hole” in the middle of your pot.  Add mustard, syrup and vinegar.  Quickly stir together and combine with onions.

12_2_13 033

Add the broth and bring to a boil.  Then add the greens.  Cover and cook for about 5 minutes, allowing the greens to wilt.

12_2_13 034  12_2_13 036

Add the cranberries, sweet potato, and sea salt and pepper to taste.  Cook uncovered until the sauce thickens and reduces, about 15 minutes.  Sauce will continue to thicken when removed from the heat.

12_2_13 038 12_2_13 040

Serve and top with almonds if desired.

12_2_13 042

3 responses to “The kale dish that just about everyone likes!

  1. This salad looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Selina Frizzell says:

    Generally, how long does it take the sweet potatoes to steam?

Leave a Reply

