There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Caramel Apple Streusel Muffins (Paleo/Gluten-Free)

on September 25, 2014

Paleo Caramel Apple Streusel Muffins via There is no Secret to Getting Fit

It’s officially fall!  I went along on my son’s kindergarten field trip to Carter Mountain Orchard and came home with 2 bags of golden delicious apples.  Yum!  Of course we ate some on their own, but I also wanted to make something with some of them.  My daughter voted for apple crumble, which I made, but I still had more apples and an urge to create a new recipe!

So here’s what I came up with.  There are a few steps and it does require multiple bowls, but in the end, these are so very worth the extra bowls you have to wash!  They come out moist and just sweet enough.  The batter uses only a few dates and the fruit to make it sweet, and the almond flour has a natural sweetness to it.  The streusel topping has only 2 tablespoons of natural sweetener added.  You can make the topping a bit sweeter by adding an extra tablespoon of sweetener, but I think they are sweet enough as is, and my kids sure didn’t notice the lack of sweeteners in this recipe!

I made a few with the streusel in the middle and on top and I made some with it just on top and I really couldn’t tell much of a different between the two, so save yourself some time and just use a generous amount on top!

Incidentally, my kids devoured a few of these in a matter of seconds.

ENJOY!

Paleo Caramel Apple Streusel Muffins

INGREDIENTS:

Streusel Topping:
1 cup almond flour
1/2 cup chopped pecans
2 tbsp coconut palm sugar (or maple syrup)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp ground allspice
3 tbsp melted coconut oil

Muffin Batter:
2 cups shredded apples (about 3 small or 2 large apples)
3 eggs
1 very ripe banana
1 cup almond flour
3 tbsp coconut flour
1 tbsp melted coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Caramel:
6 medjool dates (soaked)
2 tbsp water
1 tsp sea salt

METHOD:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray mini muffin tins or silicone mini muffin pans.  (I use my Misto with olive oil.)

Step 1:  Soak 6 pitted dates in warm water.  Set aside.

Step 2:  Make the streusel topping.  Combine all dry ingredients for the streusel topping, add the coconut oil and use a fork to combine until crumbly.  Set aside.  Don’t put your spices or almond flour away yet!  (If the topping is too wet and not crumbly like the picture, just add a bit more almond flour.  This may happen if you use maple syrup instead of coconut sugar.)

Step 3:  Make the muffin batter.

Shred your peeled and cored apples.  I used the shredding attachment for my food processor.  Super quick and easy.  Alternatively, you could use a grater or dice your apples very small.  Place in a bowl and set aside.  Yep, see, I told you, a lot of bowls.

Mix eggs and banana in food processor until smooth (I promise, these have no banana flavor at all!).  Add remaining batter ingredients and pulse until combined.  Let that sit to thicken while you make the caramel.

Step 4:  Make the caramel.

Drain the dates.  Place dates in a tall container, add water and salt (this is how I make salted caramel in other recipes).  Using a stick blender, blend until a creamy caramel forms.  If it’s too thick, you can add a bit more water, but if your dates have soaked long enough, you shouldn’t need to.  (Alternatively, you can use a blender.)

Step 5:  Add the apples and “caramel” to the batter.  Pulse a few times to combine everything.

Step 6.  Scoop batter into mini muffin pans, filling about 3/4 full.  Top with about 2 tsp streusel topping.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Let cool for 10-15 minutes in pan before removing.

Makes about 36 mini muffins.

Streusel Topping:
image-7 image-8

Shredded Apples:
image-9

Caramel:
image-10 image-11

Finished batter:
image-12


Paleo Caramel Apple Streusel Muffins via There is no Secret to Getting Fit

One response to “Caramel Apple Streusel Muffins (Paleo/Gluten-Free)

  1. […] than we know what to do with so we have to come up with recipes to use them in like this one and this one)… wait, where was I? Oh yes, so I came up with recipes to use my apples in and this was a […]

Leave a Reply

