There is No Secret to Getting Fit

My Journey to Fitness

Paleo Pumpkin Pie Bites with Spiced Coconut Whipped Cream

on October 29, 2014

Paleo PPie Bites

My cravings for seasonal treats haven’t completely disappeared since I switched to a clean, whole foods, mostly Paleo diet.  Though I don’t crave super sweet, dense, rich desserts, I still have the occasional craving for seasonal treats like pumpkin pie.   I wanted the moist, creaminess of the pie filling, but in a stable enough form that you could still pick up without having a crust or tart shell.  These little babies are just that.  They’re super creamy and moist, but you can still pick them up (gently!) and pop one in your mouth.  I like to make most of my teats in bite size form because I am usually just craving a little taste of a treat, rather than wanting to indulge in a big serving.

As I mentioned in my last post, I got a great deal on pie pumpkins and have a huge amount of pumpkin puree frozen and ready to use at a moment’s notice!  I made a very similar version of this recipe about a month ago and my daughter was asking me to make it again.  I tweaked my recipe a bit and came up with something worthy of posting.

My pumpkin moment arrived last night.  Armed with my over-abundance of pumpkin that I pureed and froze conveniently in 1-cup measures, I set to work on this delicious little bite.  As I said, my 7 year old daughter is a huge pumpkin fan and absolutely loves these, and my non-pumpkin-loving husband really enjoys them too!  My 5 year old son thinks they look suspect and didn’t want to try them- yet.  We’ll get there with him!  😉

Be sure to plan ahead a bit.  These are best eaten cold!

Enjoy!

Paleo Pumpkin Pie Bites with Spiced Coconut Whipped Cream
Via There is No Secret to Getting Fit
Yields about 48 mini muffin sized bites

INGREDIENTS:

Pumpkin Pie Bites
2 cups pureed pumpkin (if you use a can, the ingredients should just say pumpkin)
1 very ripe banana
1 can full fat coconut milk
1/3 c maple syrup
1/3 c coconut sugar
3 large eggs
2/3 c almond flour
3 tbsp coconut flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract

Spiced Coconut Whipped Cream
1 can full fat coconut milk, refrigerated overnight
2 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch ground ginger
pinch nutmeg

METHOD:

Step 1:  Using a blender, combine pumpkin and banana until smooth.  Add in remaining ingredients and blend until smooth and fully combined.  Let the batter sit for a few minutes.

Step 2:  While your batter is thickening up a bit, preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line mini muffin tins with paper or foil liners or silicone liners and spray with nonstick spray (I use olive oil in my Misto).  (I think the paper liners at the best idea if you plan on sharing these.  Though they can be picked up, they aren’t super stable.  The paper liners make it easier to pick them up, share them and even pack as a snack.  You definitely need liners in your muffin tins or they will not come out cleanly, no matter how non-stick.)

Step 3:  Once your oven is preheated and your muffin tins are lined, give the batter a quick whirl around in your blender.  Batter will still be very thin!  Pour batter into the mini baking cups, filling to the top.

Step 4:  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Remove from oven.  Let cool on counter for about 10 minutes before transferring to the refrigerator.  Refrigerate at least 30 minutes before removing from the tins. (The middle may sink a bit, but that’s just a convenient vessel for the whipped cream).  Store in refrigerator in an airtight container.  I store mine in layers with waxed paper or parchment paper between each layer.)

Step 5:  When you’re ready to serve these, make your whipped topping.  Open your refrigerated can of coconut milk.  Scoop out the solid cream on top of the can and discard the remaining water (or save it to use in a smoothie!).  Using a whisk attachment on your mixer, whip the coconut cream for about 5 minutes, until it looks fluffy.  Add in the maple syrup and spices and whip for another 30 seconds or so.

Step 6:  Put a dollop of the whipped cream on top of your pumpkin pie bite and pop it in your mouth.

OK, maybe for you it’s more like 2-3 bites to be “dainty” about it.  🙂

IMG_5818

2 responses to “Paleo Pumpkin Pie Bites with Spiced Coconut Whipped Cream

  1. kattie says:

    Have you ever just made this as a crust less pie? Do you think it could work??

    • FitK8lin says:

      Yes, I have! It does work and comes out clean too. I prefer the small bites or a very small sliver of pie though. You do have to bake it a bit longer, just until the center sets. Refrigerate to set it completely.

      Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

